Slides

Reaction score
Slides. Or whatever you call 'em when you zip your fingers across about an octave of keys. They used to do it a lot back in the boogie=woogie piano days.

Well I've discovered how much fun they are and it fools people into thinking you really know how to play. Find what key you're in, put your finger on the next highest octave of that key and slide down real quick. Someone suggested you put your finger close to the black keys rather than at the very edge of the keys because you don't have to press them as far down. I also think you have to do them as fast as possible. Also it seems to work better when your finger is sideways & flat.

There is an annoying sound of clicking keys, and I'm not sure how to avoid that.

Anyone have any other tips about this technique?

I do too many slides am I in danger of breaking my keys?

Reaction score
Interesting post, slides I think are cresandros? I'm not technical so I don't know for sure, I use them too, usually with a dynamic build in the music to go to another part in the music, or intros/outros or on organ really cool to lay on the bottom notes and use volume in conjuction with a slide "up" slowly building into song. I've never gotten to tech about how to do it, just happens with the feel.

Reaction score
Slides. Or whatever you call 'em when you zip your fingers across about an octave of keys. They used to do it a lot back in the boogie=woogie piano days.

Well I've discovered how much fun they are and it fools people into thinking you really know how to play. Find what key you're in, put your finger on the next highest octave of that key and slide down real quick. Someone suggested you put your finger close to the black keys rather than at the very edge of the keys because you don't have to press them as far down. I also think you have to do them as fast as possible. Also it seems to work better when your finger is sideways & flat.