Some help with the basics!

Reaction score
Hi Folks, wish you a very happy new year!

Have recently bought the Korg PA 700 and the Roland Juno DS 88 (one for the arranger features and the other for the piano type keys and 'Roland' sound') - I am a hobbyist and am familiarising myself with these instruments. I have some basic questions that I am seeking help with:

1. I have bought a local double X type stand that can have two keyboards, but it did not come with weight specifications - I am hoping both these keyboards are not too heavy to put on top of each other (the DS on the lower level and the PA 700 on the higher level) - I know it's difficult to accurately answer this, but any ideas on typical weight a standard double keyboard stand can take?

2. I would like to play the PA 700 using the DS 88 - How do I connect MIDI and how easy is it to do?

3. I would like to use the speaker system of the PA 700 to output sounds from the Roland (line out to line in) - Is this doable?

4. I have been reading on subtractive synthesis - in most cases, it talks of manipulating standard wave, sine and saw waveforms - are these available on either of these keyboards (I mean raw waveforms that I can edit using onboard synthesis tools or the Roland DS Librarian and Editor on a PC)

5. On the Pattern Sequencer on the Juno, is there any way for the pattern to follow chords (like in an arranger) or does every 'sequencing' need to be in a specific scale while getting created?

6. I have a PC with a good set of speakers (in addition to a keyboard amp I am using with the Juno) - but since the PC is in another room, is it possible for me to connect the Juno DS to the PC (Midi to USB) and then hear the Juno sounds (either onboard or the librarian) through the PC speakers - asking this since I believe the DS is capable of routing Midi and Audio data through the USB cable.

Thanks much for all the information you guys share.

Reaction score