Soundproof insulation small home studio

Reaction score
I need some advice on how to properly insulate a small home studio on a budget (appartment building)

I don't need a professional coming in with his or her equipement and take acoustic measurements as I'm just an amateur messing about.
I was looking at Thomann's site and found this :

It's a small room that also acts as a small office, about 280 cm wide x 280 cm long, height about 280 (perfect cube ;) ), with a double-glazed window.
Is there anything I can do to optimise the acoustics and keep angry neighbours out ?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Then you should have no problem.

I live in a concrete high rise and I’ve never had a noise complaint in 5 years.

Be sparing with a subwoofer though. Those frequencies transmit via contact.

As for walls, ceiling, etc.?

Cheapest solution is to go to a commercial egg farm or packaging supplier and buy some commercial egg trays.

Gary. ;)

Reaction score
Suck it and see, if you want to pre-empt problems then visit neighbours and ask them if they will listen for you playing.

Then play and chat to them about what they heard.

If they could hear you then you could look at de-coupling the space by an acoustic floor (not as expensive as you might think), acoustic mat with timber floor laid on top. This will limit impact transmission through the floor and into the structure.

Then line the walls and ceiling with the Acoustic Absorbers.

Downside is that so much sound insulation will create a muted sound.

Reaction score
Sorry for the late reply, been busy doing other stuff...

Not going to bother with an acoustic floor as the appartment is on the ground floor, I only need to worry about walls and ceiling.
I might try and visit a local music store to get some advice there instead of ordering online since I really have no idea what I'm doing ;)

Reaction score