Split Horn Sound

Discussion in 'Roland Keyboards' started by Doug Lanier, Jul 9, 2018.

  1. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Does any current keyboard split the Horn sounds like the FantomG series did? It was so cool to go from 3 horns playing a unison line, then hear them split on 3 note chords, (one instrument for each note), instead of going from 3 horns playing unison to 9 horns playing (3 instruments for each note)
     
    Doug Lanier, Jul 9, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Doug Lanier

    SeaGtGruff I meant to play that note! Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    2,072
    Likes Received:
    847
    That sounds like what Yamaha calls an "ensemble voice." The Genos has several ensemble voices, as did the Tyros5 before it. I don't know what other keyboard manufacturers call this, or which of their models have it.
     
    SeaGtGruff, Jul 9, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Thanks!
     
    Doug Lanier, Aug 11, 2018
    #3
  4. Doug Lanier

    CowboyNQ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    I reckon I could easily do this on my Korg Krome. I say "I reckon" because I've never tried it and it's packed up for a tour at the moment.

    But I'm 99% sure I could set up a Combi with each instrument transposed as necessary.
     
    CowboyNQ, Aug 12, 2018
    #4
  5. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Please explain how to do this...

    When playing a “3 piece horn section”...

    On a normal keyboard patch with trumpet, tenor sax, and trombone layered, what happens (and what I’m trying to avoid) is:

    Single unison note = all 3 horns play same note

    3 note chord =
    1) High note is played by all 3 horns
    2) Middle note is played by all 3 horns
    3) Low note is played by all 3 horns

    This makes it sound like you’re going from a 3 piece Horn section to a nine piece section, which sounds very unrealistic.

    What the Fantom G did, and what sounds much more realistic :

    Single unison note = all 3 horns play the same note

    3 note chord =

    1) High note played by trumpet only
    2) Middle note played by tenor sax only
    3) Low note played by trombone only

    Got any ideas on how to make this happen?
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2018
    Doug Lanier, Aug 12, 2018
    #5
  6. Doug Lanier

    CowboyNQ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yep as I said I would just transpose each instrument in a combi so that each instrument would play (for example) root, third, seventh.

    But again, I've not actually tried this, although it seems simple and I'd be shocked and horrified if the Krome couldn't do it.
     
    CowboyNQ, Aug 12, 2018
    #6
  7. Doug Lanier

    Biggles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK.
    Not sure if your query relates to ine of your Workstations or to your Arranger.

    Your PA 1000 has an Ensemble function.

    Press and hold the Shift then press Ensemble button to get the menu that allows you to select which ensemble format to use, my 700 seems to default to Block which gives a Jazzy sound.

    That said your 1000 probably has many more choices than my 700.
     
    Biggles, Aug 12, 2018
    #7
    Doug Lanier and CowboyNQ like this.
  8. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    That might work with the root, 5, and b7 if you were just playing block chords, (playing the 3rd would not allow you to play minor chords. But the Fantom G allows you play single lines in unison and chords in 3 part harmony without changing anything. I was just wondering if any new keyboard does this...
     
    Doug Lanier, Aug 12, 2018
    #8
  9. Doug Lanier

    happyrat1 Destroyer of Eardrums!!!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,874
    Likes Received:
    2,749
    Location:
    GTA, Canada
    You might want to take a look at the Roland FA series.

    They've pretty much replaced the Fantom line and may have grandfathered over that feature.

    Gary ;)
     
    happyrat1, Aug 12, 2018
    #9
  10. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Thanks brother, I looked at the FA-08 manual, but it looks like that feature died with the Fantom G.
     
    Doug Lanier, Aug 12, 2018
    #10
  11. Doug Lanier

    CowboyNQ

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    1,077
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    You didn't have to press a button? How did it know when you wanted unison and when you wanted to play a three part harmony? How did it know what harmony you wanted to play?

    Or are you trying to say it could sense when you were playing a triad and assigned a different sound to each note? If so, that IS a cool feature and apologies for my misunderstanding. If I've understood this correctly, I'm intrigued as to what it did when you played two or four+ notes simultaneously instead of a triad.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018
    CowboyNQ, Aug 13, 2018
    #11
  12. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Yes it automatically sensed how many notes you were playing and assigned the appropriate instrument for each note, making it sound much more realistic
     
    Doug Lanier, Aug 13, 2018
    #12
    CowboyNQ likes this.
  13. Doug Lanier

    Biggles

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    759
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK.
    Wow what a cool sound.

    I have replicated the sound on my Korg Kross 2.

    Its not a final solution as I have hunted through the menus and I cannot make sense of so much in there but my workaround does give me the sound so I least I can hear what it sounds like.

    I set up a Combi (probably called Layer something with other makes)
    Set Trumpet on Track 1
    Set Trombone on Track 2
    Set Sax on Track 3
    Muted all other Tracks

    Adjusted each Track such that:-
    Trumpet on Track 1 only plays up to F#4 from bottom left key
    Trombone on Track 2 only plays G4 to A4
    Sax on Track 3 only plays from A#4 to top right key.

    So I now have the keyboard essentially with two splits with each instrument only sounding in one of the split zones.

    OK so we only have 3 notes that sound for the Trombone but that is enough for the good ole
    1, 4, 5 chords
    C, F & G to be easily played

    That is using
    C 1st inv
    F root
    G 2nd inv
     
    Biggles, Aug 13, 2018
    #13
    CowboyNQ likes this.
  14. Doug Lanier

    Doug Lanier

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Savannah Georgia
    Wow! Interesting workaround!
     
    Doug Lanier, Aug 13, 2018
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.