Suggestions for home recording studio keyboard?

Reaction score
Hello,

I have a modest home recording studio and want to add a versatile keyboard. I am a guitarist, but want a keyboard to add some flavor to my recordings with virtual instruments such as saxophone, strings and so on. I almost ordered an Arturia Keylab 61, but happened to play a few Yamaha keyboards in stores and was very impressed with the feel and sounds.

Having a large amount of voices from which to select is important to me. I have an old keyboard that I'm using as a midi controller now with some free vsti software. But, it is a cheap unit and it lacks a lot of features such as aftertouch.

I really can't spend more than $500. I've been researching Yamaha keyboards and there are so many! I'd appreciate advice! Thanks!

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Take a look on your local Craigslist.com for a "gently used" Yamaha MOX6, Korg X-50 or Roland Juno Di. You should be able to find one in your price range.

Gary...

Reaction score
Take a look on your local Craigslist.com for a "gently used" Yamaha MOX6, Korg X-50 or Roland Juno Di. You should be able to find one in your price range.

Gary...

Thank you, Gary. What happens when I start researching this sort of thing is information overload, haha. Several times I have made a "firm" decision, only to have that swayed by some review or more thought. I checked out Craig's list previously but will take your advice and look again. I think I'd like a Yamaha...but there are so many models! I want lots of on-board voice and to be able to also use it as a midi.

Have a great week!

Travis

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score