Suggestions?...

Reaction score
Hey y'all!

Rookie to the forum here, but I've been thinking of purchasing a new keyboard lately and was wanting to get some credible input on a potential good option. Basically, the long/short of it is I'm a musician who has never actually played keys "full time" in a band before (I've always played guitar, or drums, or bass, etc. --- one of those people!) And so as a more simple-minded keys player, here's some of the more prominent things I'm looking for:

- Light-weightedness - gonna have to do a lot of transporting with it, so the lighter the better
- Weighted-keys - this probably defeats the last one a little bit, but there's something a lot more enjoyable about playing with keys that offer resistance, etc.
- Multiple sounds - the group I'm in features a lot of B3, some piano, wurli, and the odd clavinet here and there. So not necessarily needing 800 songs, but also a little more than just "Grand Piano," "Electric Piano," "Organ," etc.
- A mod wheel would be preferable, as that Rotary sound on Leslie B3 is important to the group's studio recordings.
- On-board speakers would be cool, but definitely not a must --- would just be nice to practice at home without an amp/headphones, etc.

Anyways, if you all have any suggestions/thoughts/opinions on a keyboard that fits the above parameters, they sure would be appreciated!

Thanks for your time!

- starfishcoffee13

P.S. A few I've looked at among others include the Casio WK-7600 (almost fits, but non-weighted keys), PX5 (awesome, but just a little pricey), Korg Microarranger (haven't actually seen this in person and I don't believe it has weighted keys that I've read, but I could be wrong...), Roland JUNO-DS61 (a little pricey too)...

Reaction score
Hey SFC,

Welcome!