Sustaining the note on piano

Reaction score
I started playing keyboard some months ago. While playing, I realized that a note on keyboard doesn't sustain for more than few seconds. But many songs have notes that last much longer than that. I have not been really happy with this as the music from keyboard does not sound like the song being played.

I searched on web to overcome this and came across a term - ADSR - and understood that what I want can be achieved through vsti software, else I will have to purchase an expensive keyboard (I play on yamaha psr e353).

I searched and downloaded Tracktion 5 and TAL-ELEK7ro and made them work together with my keyboard and experimented to understand that sustain can be achieved. BUT, the sound I hear is not at all of piano, but some mix of various electronic sounds.

Is there any way by which I can get good piano sound through these software, or I need something else? Thanks for any suggestions.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
REAL pianos do NOT sustain indefinitely.

Whatever sound you are looking for in your head does not exist in the real world.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks to both happyrat1 and Fred for the response. But the answers are slightly contradictory.

My question was whether it is possible to get the sound I want through vsti and DAN softwares or not?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Again, it is not a sound which exists in nature. In theory, with a modern synthesizer it is possible to create any sound you can imagine.

Then again with a ROMpler type of VSTi or keyboard it's usually not doable to sustain a piano sound infinitely. If you try you get something else that's no longer a piano sound as your experiments have shown.

So if you can imagine it you might be able to create what you want with a modelling synthesizer, but don't even try to call it a piano any longer.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

Again, thanks for the responses.

I will elaborate a bit.