Switching from a hardware setup to a software setup for professional gigs.

Reaction score
Hi gang. I know there is a recent topic on software suggestions for live performance, but the ones I saw there seemed to be aimed at a lower level then I had in mind. Basically, I've been using a Korg Triton 61 for 12 years, with a weighted 88 key board attatched to it, midi'd together so that the triton does all the sounds and controls. I just select midi channels on the other one. However, my beloved Triton is aging, and as I'm much more into computers that I was in highschool, it makes sense for me to switch to a laptop as my brain.

I'm playing in a professional cover band, mostly doing corporate entertainment shows, so reliability of gear, smooth transitions from setup to setup, and availability of high quality samples are essential.

So basically, I'm planning on buying a 13" Macbook pro, and a good piece of software. Possibly some extra sample libraries too. Oh, and an audio interface, and a 4 way midi box. But the real questions is the software. Any comments on what I should check out, or better yet, some good suggestions of tutorials or demos that I could watch or try? The two main ones I have in mind are Ableton Live, and Logic Pro Mainstage. I'll just be using them for live performances with no sequencing or triggering. Just layering up very complicated combis of many sounds, mapped all over multiple keyboards. Also, any suggestion of other professional grade software I might want to consider would be very welcome! Thanks a lot for the input!
-cullam

Reaction score
I love hardware setups, personally. However, before I made my decision when I had money to spend, I was looking at muse receptors very seriously. I love the idea of a standalone VST computer.

Reaction score