Synth or Arranger Keyboard

Reaction score
Hi all, please accept my apologies if this has been covered before, I am sure many times...

I am a guitarist but am looking for a keyboard to play some small parts in some songs we play. Mainly synth style sounds, and had settled on looking at something cheaper like a Yamaha MX49 or maybe even a Korg Minilogue. It's a bit of an experiment for me so not looking to spend a fortune.

However, having started looking into it I wonder if I would perhaps be better going for something like a Casio CT-X5000 or a Yamaha PSR E473. I had perhaps unfairly discounted these almost as toys, but looking at lot of videos and reviews they seem to sound excellent, and to offer a genuine choice against a dedicated synth for a live situation. With a synth, I guess I trade smaller size and less weight but a great flexibility of sound design (and maybe sound quality?) - with flexibility and a much greater variety of sounds? I like the idea of having pianos, organs and some keyboard sounds but I can't see me using the styles or rhythm functions at all, which i guess is really the point of these types of instruments. But I also like the idea of a having a self contained keyboard to use as a learning tool, without the faff of connecting a synth to a powered speaker or PA....

Have now thoroughly wrapped myself around the axle of indecision and would appreciate your collective thoughts.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
If your focus is old school analog then take a look at the Studiologic Sledge or the sequential Take 5.

The sledge is comparable to the Minilogue in price and way more user friendly. Don’t worry that it’s virtual analog.

Or if you want to splurge, the Take 5 is double the budget but very versatile. Also very user friendly.

An arranger is not a good choice for a synth band Think cruise ship or nursing home. :D

Gary. ;)

Reaction score