System-1 SH101 purchase issue

Reaction score
Hi, I'm a NOOB here but I owned and used many vintage - modern synths in the last 35 years. I'm not one for forums but I need some info with the following. Many thanks in advance.

Has anyone bought a System-1 with the free SH101 offer in the last year? I got my Roland System-1 last Xmas with a free SH101 upgrade. However, when I tried to register / download it I was only offered a discount. I contacted Roland who eventually told me that this offer finished 4 years ago. A bit strange since the unit I purchased was new and 1.3 OS? Roland haven't been very sympathetic to my complaint probably thinking I'm a scammer even though I sent picture proof of all the serial and product key details as they requested. They certainly weren't very accommodating which isn't like Roland customer service of old.

Has anyone else had this problem?

With the extra cost of the SH101 plug out the unit isn't really worth the money considering you could purchase a Behringer MS1 & Model D for around the same price and totally hands on.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

Return it and buy another make, ie one that has not been sitting unboxed on a shelf for four years.

The Behringers arguably get better reviews than the Roland especially the newest models.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
He said he bought it last Christmas, so it seems likely that he can no longer return it.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The problem is that he should have read the fine print on the offer before pulling the trigger.

All that can be said on this is "Caveat Emptor."

Badmouthing customer service because they won't honor a 4 year old promotion is just sour grapes at this point.

Gary ;)

Reaction score