teaching myself keyboard

Reaction score
Is it possible to teach yourself keyboard? I don't play piano and I read music like a first-grader.. I had a few basic lessons when I was a kid and I understand music theory. And I do play guitar & banjo (self taught) and I learn/play by ear.

Reading tabs or music notation just isn't my thing. It ties me down. I hope I can just start playing chords and progressions and maybe figure out a few songs. I don't aspire to play Beethoven... just enough to be able to record parts for my ambient/spacy original tracks.

Am I expecting too much?

Reaction score
Not at all. Some of the greatest musicians in the world never learned any of that stuff. The way I see it, there are 2 sides to music improvisation and reading. Culturally, jazz has taken the place of the improvisational, more free type of music. Classical takes the other side, where everything is done strictly and without much freedom. Neither is better than the other, they are just different ways of playing. (Of course, there is more than just jazz and classical).

However, you shouldn't say that reading just isn't your thing. You may think it will tie you down, but it might actually open some things up for you. I would recommend learning to read music even if you don't think you are into it. You will learn form it.

I was first taught to play classical piano, and did everything from reading music. I started taking lessons from a jazz musician about 6 years after i started playing piano. I was horrible! But after 3 or 4 years of that, I have a completely different view on music that i would have never known about. Now i can read music and play classical stuff, and also have fun just improvising and making things up as i go. Classical music also is great for making you a better player. I like to warm up with it, usually a Bach invention because they are difficult to play and work both hands. So don't rule it out just yet.

Reaction score