The learning process..

Reaction score
Just wondering how many in these pages are self taught?
My wife surprised me today when I played something for her.... she said "I liked that."
BUT, it was on my acoustic guitar... oh well, at least I'm moving forward.

I also just started learning the acoustic guitar about a month ago and threw a synthesizer (piano) into the mix days later, so trying to "self teach" myself on both...
Oh well, it's a journey I'm enjoying.. How did you all do it?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Aside from a traumatic attempt with a triangle in grade 1 and a bit of notation in primary school I started out self taught on a Boehm Flute I bought myself on my 18th birthday.

I played it for about a decade until the pads started to wear out along with my lungs.

Then in the early 80's I picked up a Casio MT-70, used, for an atrocious amount of money back then. I think I ended up buying it for $300 or $400 CDN :p

(The light pen was not included for that price :p )

Casio_MT-70.jpg

After that point, prices started to drop on quality synths and by the 90's I was hooked on keyboards and began horse trading my way up to my current collection.

In all that time, I never acquired a formal tutor. So I probably do many things totally the wrong way today, but as long as I'm pleased with my final output I'm OK with that. :)

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I have been playing a guitar for quite a few years.

Alas arthrytis of my hands has been making guitar playing a bit uncomfortable, especially barre chords as my left hand fingers do not bend or spread as they once did.

As it is I can play my Bass without as much discomfort.

Thought that I would transition to Keyboards so after having a coupke ended up with my Korg PA700 which I then found to heavy to carry so bought the lightweight Kross 2.

Thoroughly enjoy tinkering around on both but do prefer the Kross.