This is not a question just complaining about cruelty to keyboard players

Reaction score
I have been working in a particular band for the last 11 months. Its a great gig, Working 5 nights a week give or take, transport is provided along with board and food on gigs further from home, the pay is good and whats more is the music is heavily keyboard based, the keyboard has more function in the band than the guitar which is a refreshing change.

HOWEVER, one thing about the gig bothers me so much. I spend a lot of time programming my patches because there is so many sounds in the gig and the keyboard is such a big part of the mix. I have to balance them quite carefully compared to one another and the rest of the band. However when I get to the gig the engineer ruines it all. He compress the mix way too much. I asked him about it a couple times but he always says the compress is very gentle. I knew it wasn't. When he wasnt looking once I called up my channel on the desk and it was set with a low threshold and the compression was set to almost 4:1o_O It mushes all my sounds together and takes all the dynamics out of my playing. Its hard to contain my rage with the situation.

Reaction score
Sounds as though the soundman is running the entire board's output through the compressor so that everyone is being compressed. Perhaps he could you take the input into the compressor from an 'effects send' and exclude the keyboard channel from sending anything out the effects send; this way everything would run through the compressor except the keys.

Reaction score