time delay confuing a nubie

Reaction score
Hi,

I've got a Yamaha PSR290 which has MIDI. I'm pretty new to using MIDI. So I installed CUBASE and I also tried a free program ( I forget the name ). I was using an interface (? not sure if that's the right word.) It's a USB cable that goes through a little 2"square device and then on through the midi ports of the keyboard. Using VST to link to an instrument I was getting piano sounds but there was a 0.5 - 1 second delay on it which made playing anything impossible for me. Please can you tell me what I need to do because although the instruments in the PSR-290 are pretty good I'd like to use some really top.notch sound fonts and MIDI to get a beautiful piano sound.

Thanks.

Marcus.

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum.

If you've got it making a sound you're almost there. Someone on here will be able to help you fix this.

How techie are you Marcus? You're probably going to need to tweak a few settings and/or install ASIO drivers (maybe).

What spec is your PC/Mac and what's the USB device?

Lastly how are you listening to the VST piano sounds and what is the free software?

Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks. I think I download Anvil Studio to play it. ( I had also tried Cubase with the same result ) . I'm very techie with computers. I'm using a bog standard laptop running Windows 7 and Windos XP (dual boot) but I'm virtually completely new to Midi software so I've been having some trouvle understanding what is what inside the software. But I did manage to at least get the piano running from the VST instruments. It got much easier once I discovered that the "IN" plug goes into MIDI OUT and the "OUT" plug goes into MINI IN !! hehe .. but I need to fix the time delay or I won't be able to use it. The cable I bought was about 25 dollars compared to the 75 dollars for the Yamaha one. I wonder if that is why ?

Reaction score