Total beginner from the UK taking the plunge

Reaction score
Hi there, from the UK, briefly played guitar in my teens many years ago, spend way too much time gaming on the pc so looking to find another hobby to get away from the games. I picked up a nice cheap guitar to dabble with but have always been fascinated by synths and keyboards so i thought why not take the plunge and have a look for something cheap and cheerful just to dip my toes. Will be looking to play a few different song styles from Van Halen Jump to Gary Newman Cars with a lot of Nine Inch Nails and a bit of Depeche Mode thrown in for good measure. I know there is not going to be any 'one trick pony' out there that will manage to cover all these bases (you just have to look at some of their live setups to see that) so will be spending a lot of time reading through the abundance of information on here to start making a shortlist and narrowing it down. May look at taking some lessons further down the road as well just to learn some of the basic fundamentals of playing.
Anyway, looking forward to starting to try and digest the knowledge on this forum and hopefully be getting my first keyboard/synth in the near future :)

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Welcome aboard...

What sort of budget are you looking at here?

Cheap and cheerful as in new Casio or as in used Roland Juno and amp and speakers?

Really if you want to keep it under $500 for the kind of stuff you want to play you're better off looking at older used workstations like the Roland Juno Di or G or a used Korg X50 or TR61.

Those would be my recommendations for the screaming leads and heavenly pad sounds that you are looking for.

The low end Casios and Yamahas are nice for the money but they don't really jump into your face when it comes to decent synth sounds.