Total Newbie

Reaction score
Now I know some of the questions and queries I will post may have been answered and before someone has a rant, I have had a read before posting my thread.

Now, I am wanting to learn the keyboard/piano. I do have a brief idea as to the difference, but want to know which would be better for me, though I think it will be keyboard.

I have never really played any musical instrument before, but want to learn the keyboard/piano. The main reason is becuase I love classical music and want to learn to play some of the great pieces. I am aware that this goal is way down the line.

I am wanting to know whether it would be better to play piano or keyboard to ultimatley play the classical music I want to. Also any paticular type or note range, bearing in mind that I am wanting to get right into it, budget is about £500. If indeed a keyboard, can you recomend a keyboard ideal for the music type I am wanting to learn.

Finally what type of music should I start by playing and any timeframe as to how many hours before I can play pieces decently.

I am good at picking up things and more than happy putting lots of hard work in.

Many thanks in advance.

Reaction score
Yamaha NP-30, a proper piano stool, a sustain pedal (M-audio do a good piano style inexpensive one) and a copy of "It's Never Too Late To Play The Piano"

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Never-Late-Play-Piano-Tutor/dp/0571520707

Post back once you're a few months into the book and I'll give you some pointers for books that have playable arrangements of the well known classical repertoire.

If you're not going for lessons - any chance of getting a buddy to start with you? Maybe get together once a week and work your way through the book?

Good luck.

Reaction score
Yamaha NP-30, a proper piano stool, a sustain pedal (M-audio do a good piano style inexpensive one) and a copy of "It's Never Too Late To Play The Piano"

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Never-Late-Play-Piano-Tutor/dp/0571520707