Trouble working PSR-GX76 with PC

Reaction score
Im having a little trouble getting my Yamaha PSR-GX76 to work with my windows 10 PC. My pc recognises it's there as a USB midi device, but when using midi-ox I can't seem to see any data being transferred.

I'm pretty new to this and maybe I'm doing something totally wrong, I have tried installing the Yamaha PSR-GX76 driver from the website but get an error message (Error 25001 No device is connected) when I try.

I just want to be able to see what I'm playing and maybe do a little recording as Ive on used a analog loop pedal before and everything gets lost when I start a new project.

Thanks.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
The PSR-GX76 has MIDI IN/OUT ports but no USB TO HOST port, so obviously you're using a USB-MIDI interface of some kind. Can you tell us what it is?

I think most USB-MIDI interfaces these days are designed to be class-compliant so they won't need a driver, but if they do need a driver then it should be the driver that was written for that device, not the driver for the brand of keyboard. For example, if you're using Yamaha's USB-MIDI interface-- the UX16-- then you can use a Yamaha USB-MIDI driver with it (whichever one is designed for your operating system). But if you're using a non-Yamaha USB-MIDI interface then you won't be able to use a Yamaha USB-MIDI driver because the driver won't detect a Yamaha USB-MIDI device for it to talk to.

Note that many of the inexpensive off-brand USB-MIDI interface cables can be unreliable and problematic for various reasons, whereas well-known brands tend to be more reliable and less problematic. One of the least expensive USB-MIDI interface cables that a number of users have verified to work well with older models of Yamaha keyboards is the iConnectivity mio, so if you're using a cheap off-brand cable then you might consider replacing it with a mio.