Updating my rig to include mac/midi setup. Suggestions?

Reaction score
Greetings keyboard family! This is my first time back to this forum in a few years. Everybody here has been incredibly kind and helpful in the past so I was looking to get some feedback on my current situation.

I play keys in the band Indubious (www.indubiousmusic.com) and I am looking to update my rig a little bit. We play psychadelic reggae funk jam inspired style music. Very keyboard and synthesizer heavy. I currently use a Korg Triton Extreme and a hammond XK-3 simulation organ. I want to add another board to my set up. I went to guitar center and talked to a guy there who said if I wanted to get another keyboard that I should get a Kronos because it is the top of the line. After talking to him for a while I decided that perhaps going the route of hooking up my Mac to a controller is a better idea. That way I can hook it up through abelton live and trigger sequences while running a click track to the drummer for him to play to through an ear piece. That will also give me unlimited amounts of sounds that I can potentially play by allowing me to buy software synths.

My questions are as follows:

1.Does this seem like a good idea or do you think going with something like the Kronos would be better?

2. What are the pros doing these days? Are they still using hardware keyboards or are they mostly running software through a computer into a contoller?

3. If i did decide to go this computer route, what would I need to invest in? For instance what kind of controller do you think would be sufficient and then what do i need to hook it up to the computer. Would i need to get an mbox and run a midi cable or could i just hook it up to the computer via a USB cable?

4. What computer program is good for running live software instruments? Should i run them through Abelton live, Mainstage, or Logic etc.