Upgrade from Yamaha CP300 to something lighter and better!!??

Reaction score
Hi
I have a Yamaha CP300 stage piano, which sounds great, but is ridiculously cumbersome to carry into gigs. The strings and hammond sounds are good, but the Hammond sound is one limited example of the range a Hammond can give of course. I am not good at this type of thing and the range of keys out there is bewildering. Where do I start to look for a ligher keyboard with decent Hammond Sounds and preferably weighted keys?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
What's your budget?

Decent performance workstations run between $1000 USD and $2000 USD and up.

A few suggestions include Roland FA-08, Roland Juno DS88, Korg Krome 88, or even Casio Privia PX=5S or PX-560. (Don't kid yourself. Casios have come a long way these days.)

Or if you can swing it, perhaps a Kurzweil Artis or SP6 or Forte or a Nord Stage?

It all depends on your budget and what you can test drive at a local music store.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks Gary, I will work through your list, I need a starting point which is what you gave. I am a guitarist with classical piano background and a long lay off so am still playing catch up here!
It sounds picky wanting a lightweight keyboard but at 1 am in the morning trying to push past drunks in the bar and slithering on ice outside, well, you get the picture!

Reaction score