Upgrading a keyboard after 7 years of playing

Reaction score
This is my first post here on this forum so Hello to everyone.

I've been playing keyboard since 2012 and I'm thinking of upgrading my instrument.

I was learning for my own and at the moment I am familiar with basic chords and some basic scales what allows me to play majority of popular songs on the basis of chord lists. I am also familiar with basics of musical notation, but I strongly prefer to play by chords or by ear. For some time I was playing with my friend's band and I played on stage twice.

What I find tough is improvising and feeling free playing, I mean I lack the ability of playing something original, something own.

What I have now is Yamaha YPT-220 keyboard. I'm thinking about upgrading to Nord Electro of any generation. What do you think?

Reaction score
Welcome.

The sales guy at my local music store was on a high when I last went in, he had just been playing for the first time a Nord piano 4.

Me I would rather have the Stage 3 which I played a few months ago and loved it.

The Electro does get good reviews so if that is what you fancy then why not.

Its a case of deciding which variant to go for.

Worth going to a music store and playing as manydifferent keyboards as you can within your price range as it will give you an idea of what else is available.

I also suggest that you have a serious look at a Roland Juno DS 88, OK it may not look as good by a long way as a Nord but they sound and play very well indeed plus they are cheaper than a Nord.

Reaction score
What I have now is Yamaha YPT-220 keyboard. I'm thinking about upgrading to Nord Electro of any generation. What do you think?
There are so many boards to choose from, what drew you to the Electro?

Electro's strengths are pianos and organs (though only Electro 3 and up are strong on acoustic pianos).

Reaction score