Very Basic Noob Questions

Reaction score
I'm just getting started with digital keyboards and MIDI, for home playing, not gigging. I've seen keyboards that have the ability to layer multiple sounds and split the keyboard with different layers in each split... or maybe it's just one sound for the left hand and 2 sounds for the right. The sound is output to either internal speakers or external monitors. My basic question is can I do same with MIDI only using VST instruments and sounds?

I'm *very* generally familiar with some VST stuff like NI Kontakt and Pianoteq; I've worked a little DAWs like Reaper and Garageband. I use an iMac and already have powered monitors. I have Mainstage 3 installed but I'm clueless about it's use at the moment - I'm trying to find good videos/tutorials. Are there other software products that maybe I should check out? For example, if I like a lot of the NI instruments, can I just use the Kontakt player to layer stuff?

I'm also in the process of evaluating new keyboards, including MIDI only. I think I prefer a keyboard that has it's own sounds so that I can just sit down and play when I feel like it. I supposed if I have my MIDI stuff setup correctly maybe I could do the same just with MIDI. I've seen some keyboards that say you can assign up to 4 MIDI zones on the keyboard. I assume this might be helpful when playing multiple instruments?

Thanks

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The multiple zones are generally assigned to splits and layers each zone on it's own MIDI channel.

As for panning? I know I can do it in my ancient Cakewalk HS 9.01 just by setting the PAN parameter for any channel to any value between 1 and 127.

Other than that though, I'm strictly a hardware synth guy. I tend to find VSTs crash if you look at them wrong, especially under Linux.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
There are a few different types of keyboard.

Of these two are probably of more interest to you.

Arrangers and Workstations.