What DAW/Sequencer/recorder do you recommend?

Reaction score
I'm looking for something-anything- that will record faithfully and not crash often or lose data. Well, here's a list of my personal "specs":

1) Dependable and reliable (ie actually records when you press record)
2) Intuitive interface
3) I don't need to fight with it
4) Able to export mp3 (as well as the usual WAV etc)
5) Easily replaced (ie if it breaks I can get another one or something very similar)
6) Must be able to run on batteries (my home has some electrical problems)

I just do basic recording. Ideally I want to jam on 2 synths and record everything, maybe tweak the levels as needed. I'm not a pro when it comes to the studio, I just want to be able to record my music without it becoming a nightmare. I do NOT enjoy fighting with my equipment, wrestling with it to force it to perform the most basic functions.

My Juno-G is a good example: the most basic functions bring new meaning to the words "counter-intuitive". I would NEVER figure out how to bring Preset FX settings over to Performance on my own- had to buy the DVD and it's STILL the most convoluted process imaginable. Just picking a sound to record is a ridiculous 10-step process(!) The advanced features by contrast are totally self explanatory and intuitive.

(So I'm looking for an intuitive synth as well)

What do you recommend? It seems all the intuitive software interfaces are designed for Mac, never Windows. Is that true? I'll buy a Mac or ipad if I have to....I even tried one of the last Tascam Porta-Studio tape decks to no avail- same problem I had with digital medium: I'd test-record something, it'd work fine. Then I'd record for real with all the same exact settings but it would fail to record- this happened so many times I gave up.