What is MIDI exactly?

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm new to electronic keyboards and MIDI, but I read about it on the internet and would like to find out a bit more. I've been playing music for quite a while now (saxophone and piano) and am looking for a way to make simple songs on the computer, by playing loops, using different sounds and maybe a simple beat, so I could play solos over it and try to make some basic songs.
I thought this would go best with MIDI, but I'm not quite sure what it really encompasses, and what I need if I want to use it.

Reaction score
I've been playing music for quite a while now (saxophone and piano).

You've done the hard bit - getting good with a computer/midi set-up won't take long compared to learning to play an acoustic instrument.

Anyone in your circle of friends can give you a quick demo of how MIDI lets a controller (keyboard or whatever) to "talk to" a sound source?

Speak to the keyboard player in your local bands - the offer of a few free beers or a bottle of wine might be enough for them to give you a demo of their set-up.

Rex files:
Don't know what you want to record/write - but if you can record your sax and piano with a microphone into a computer program - you just need something for bass and a percussion/rhythm track to play along to. You get inexpensive loops in a format called Rex for lots of different styles. You import them into the software and copy and paste like a word processor to make up a drum track. They even adjust themselves (sort of) if you change the tempo of your click track.

Get a mate to play bass for you.

There are books on MIDI but getting someone to show you what it does will be quicker. You can ask them questions - maybe have them help set-up your system and get it all working for you.

Reaction score