What is the best keyboard for beginner?

Reaction score
I am 23 years old. Few months ago I started learning music. I am bit confused in choosing a keyboard, I am planning to go for yamaha
PSR I455. Can anyone please guide me on this?

Last edited:

Rayblewit

Love Music / Love Life
Reaction score
Last edited:

Fred Coulter

Collector of ancient keyboards
Reaction score
What are your goals with your keyboard playing? Are you planning on playing piano, or sticking with electronic keyboards? IF you're planning on going the piano route, you really should learn on something with 88 weighted keys. If not, then a five octave unweighted keyboard should be fine. (Don't go less than five octaves on your first keyboard.)

Reaction score
I know this concept may be hard to perceive for many beginners, myself included last year. But DO google about piano vs electronic keyboard, they are VERY different. As Fred asked, you may want to think about your goal and preference of music before purchase.
One friend wanted to learn piano and bought a fairly decent 61-key casio, then found out not enough keys for his exercises half a year later. The other friend's piano teacher nagged him to sell the one with unweighted keys and get a digital piano with weighted keys for proper piano training..LOL

Fred Coulter

Reaction score
One friend wanted to learn piano and bought a fairly decent 61-key casio, then found out not enough keys for his exercises half a year later.

I'm trying to figure out what beginner exercises would extend beyond a five octave keyboard. Generally, you don't need to go further until you hit late Romantic and Contemporary classical literature. (The weighted keys, on the other hand, are necessary.)

Your piano teacher works for you. If you aren't happy with them, look for a different teacher. If you're using an electronic keyboard, even one with weighted keys, you may find teachers who are classical snots. You can do better.

Reaction score