What MIDI controller would I need for?

Reaction score
Hi ya'll, I've been playing keyboards for over 30 years, mostly using Yamaha gear that has the 5 pin DIN MIDI jacks, and using miles of MIDI cables along with an Alexis MIDI sequence and Yamaha tone generators, but never used anything for recording, but now that I'm slowly edging to retirement, I've slowed down a lot, and just bought a basic Casio WK-500 (my other gear was for live performances), just to mess around with, and I saw that it uses USB for the MIDI connection which is great as I don't need miles of midi cables, just the one USB cable to the computer, now here's the dilemma, using the Casio just to send MIDI note data to the computer then to the DAW I use (Cakewalk Sonar X3), I can load up a few VSTi's and play them just as if the Casio had that built in, but I want to be able to use a basic midi controller, not a keyboard controller, but something like a small mixing desk that has sliders knobs, switches etc etc, and each movement or toggle sends a MIDI code to the DAW, so that I can assign that data to a function in one of the VSTi's, EG,,,,,When I use the Hammond B3 Vsti, I can assign different MIDI data to various functions, such as, that I can currently assign the Casio's pitch bend to the B3's Leslie speed control, so that when I pull down the pitch bend is slows the Leslie, and when I return it to center, it speeds up the Leslie, (this is not really practical if playing with both hands) this I want to do with a separate controller, that also has external inputs for things like foot switches that also send MIDI data,when the foot switch is pressed or released,, then I can assign that foot switch for the Leslie speed, and the sliders could be assigned to drawbars. The problem is I can't find a MIDI controller that doesn't use 5 pin DIN, being that my Casio uses USB, the controller would need two USB jacks, 1 for MIDI out and the for MIDI in.