What software do you recommend for a laptop in live gigs?

Reaction score
I have a dig.piano and a laptop (no sound card yet), so im about to buy the proper cables to link them, but I have no software, only cakewalk and fruity loops :p
My main interest would be a rich piano sound, what do you recomend me?
Any other software (apart from the piano) you may wanna name?

Reaction score
Wish I had an answer for you. Might as well discuss this topic though, because I'm in a similar situation. I've been using Fruity Loops for 4 years now (STILL learning new things to do with it) and I also play keyboard in a band. I'd love to finally integrate Fruity Loops into our live performances but right now I don't have a laptop to handle that of processing.

Sorry this doesn't really answer your question, but I am also interested in this, and I do think that Fruity Loops would be an awesome addition to a live gig.

Reaction score
I wouldn't recommend any software or laptop at live gigs. Too much could go wrong and ruin a show. I could just see your piano playing evolving into the windows theme music as it shut down for some unknown error. Or worse, the note just freezes because the mac has moment to consider itself above all others.

Don't do it man!! Not even to trigger samples!!!

Reaction score
True it could be risky and - to be sure nothing goes wrong - expensive, but I know it has been done and can be done.

I could just see your piano playing evolving into the windows theme music as it shut down for some unknown error.

My instinct tells me to go with a mac anyway and avoid this altogether.

Reaction score
We bring a laptop to live gigs only for samples. We don't plug it in to the sound system and we only load samples from the computer to the keyboard if we need them. Even Mac has problems. I posted on this before. I know it can be done but it is sooooooo risky that I wouldn't chance it live.