What training does everyone have?

Reaction score
I've just realised that I've been learning to play piano/keyboard for around a year at some point this month! I started with a beginners keyboard book, and I think I've had about 10 piano lessons (half a dozen way back at the start, and recently started again). I can play a few piano grade 1 pieces reasonably well, but when it comes to joining in with others with the keyboard, I'm pretty limited to playing a few complimentary chords.

What sort of training does everyone here have? I'm guessing there will be a selection of self-taught and classically trained pianists and keyboard wizards!

Reaction score
I did piano lessons up to the age of about 16, but I never took any exams. I guess I got up to about Grade 6/7, but my skills have definitely slipped since then! I wish I'd learned proper chords, it was never a focus during my lessons.

Reaction score
I really wish I had started learning when I was younger. I'm 34 now, and it feels strange passing kids aged under 10 (who are probably way ahead of me!) as I go in for a lesson!

Reaction score
I really wish I had started learning when I was younger. I'm 34 now, and it feels strange passing kids aged under 10 (who are probably way ahead of me!) as I go in for a lesson!

Better late than never! It's easier to learn new things when you're young because your mind is like a sponge, but there are advantages to learning when you're older. If you start later in life it's because there's a real passion there, whereas for me it felt like a chore when I was younger. Don't get me wrong, I still really enjoy it, but it took a while to come back round to that point. There are upsides and downsides to everything ;)

tjw

Reaction score
If your mind is challenged, it will still be "spongy". Maybe not as pliable as when you were young, but sufficient to the task of becoming a good musician.