XP 80 REVERB/CHORUS QUESTION

Reaction score
I have three XP 80's that I use for our midi band. I alternate them.

When I set the reverb to "room" and take all of the numbers down to zero (except HP damp which is 200), the XP that I have been using for several months stays on that setting, i.e. no effects which is what I want for the band.

I just started using another XP80 and noticed that certain songs that I play on a floppy disc (which contains about 13 songs) apparently causes the reverb to go back to Stage 1 rather than Room 1 and the HP damp goes back to 4000. Or I can press the Reverb/Chorus buttons on top of the board to stop the effects. I then tried the same songs on the 3rd spare XP and the reverb kicks in on the same two songs.

Is there any way to permanently turn off "all" of the effects internally so that they will not switch back when I play a certain midi song on the disc? Or does this mean that this particular XP has an internal issue that needs to be repaired?

I never want, or use the effects because I only use this unit with our band so I just want the dry sound.

Roland indicated that both the (Rx Sys. Exc and Rx GM) should be turned off which should stop the reverb and chorus from being activated. They also said I could take out the activation of reverb from the midi itself. Not sure how to do that.

I turned (Rx Sys. Exc and Rx GM) as suggested by Roland on both spare XP’s but the same two songs still cause the reverb to kick back on. However these same songs do not activate the reverb on the third XP that I have been using.

Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.

Thanks
John

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score