Xv5050 and windows 10....

Reaction score
Hi Everyone - total newbie here and returning to dabbling with my Roland Xv5050 which has been untouched since 2009! Kids, 2 home renovations and life in general has meant I haven't had time for any hobbies apart from DIY...but now I want to make time for something I enjoyed a lot in the past.

Back then my xv5050 was connected to a windows XP PC and I controlled via a convoluted arrangement using my Yamaha DGX305. Coming back, I'm now on a Windows 10 PC and unsurprisingly there are driver issues - and the xv is not recognised. I'm trying some fixes from the Web without too much success but hopeful there is an answer. Ultimately I still want to be able to use the xv5050 editor (which is still available for download but doesn't see the unit itself when connected) along with sequencing software. So this is my starting point. I'm less wedded to the yamaha as a controller but before I buy a dedicated MIDI controller (e.g. Novation Keystation 88) I want to be sure I can actually still use the XV. I still think it's an excellent sound module and will be suitable for my needs. And I'm no Mozart anyway.

So the question is, does anyone know how I can make all this work? I've seen posts elsewhere about using 5 pin MIDI instead but not sure how that works or what cables I need to buy. Any help much appreciated.

Sorry if this all comes across as very amateurish! And if anything isn't clear just ask. In the meantime I'll keep my tin hat ready in case I need to take my question to the beginner's section!

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
If you can't find an updated driver that will work with the XV-5050's USB connection, you can try using the MIDI connections.