Yamaha CP40 to iOS (AirPlay) connector?

Reaction score
Greetings — I own a Yamaha CP40 and am moving into a tiny home where I can't set up my amp/speakers/etc., so I'm looking for a way to stream the CP40 output to an AirPlay speaker. I'm thinking a connector (either 1/4" stereo or USB-B to iOS Lightning) could possibly work, but I doubt it's that easy. Advice?...sure appreciate...Jim

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I have no experience with AirPlay speakers-- or for that matter with any wireless speakers-- so I have questions.

Does the sound need to be streamed from an Apple device? Is that how you're thinking of setting it up-- run the CP40's audio to a Mac, MacBook, iPad, iPhone, or other Apple device via a wired connection of some kind, then from there transmit it via AirPlay to the speakers? If so, I assume that would work, but I'm wondering if there will be any issues with latency.

I know that latency can be a problem with Bluetooth, but I know nothing about AirPlay and latency. Note that the impact of latency varies depending on whether you're streaming something (audio, video, both, or other data) that can be buffered and delayed as long as necessary to ensure an uninterrupted stream of data, versus a situation where the data needs to be as close to "live" as possible. Something that would be ideal for streaming recorded music might be a nightmare to try to use for steaming a live performance where any delay between playing a key and hearing the sound produced by that key could completely throw off your timing.