Yamaha DGX-650??

Reaction score
I am a total newbie. I briefly owned a Casio PX-350 but didn't like it much due to low volume produced by the three watt on board speakers, but it was destroyed by a cat before I really could do anything with it.

I had a look at the Yamaha DGX-650 in a store. It was used and we couldn't come to terms on a fair price. I was having fun with it, but I understand as a newbie I am in no position to judge quality. I was trying to find some professional reviews on line, (Harmony Central, Gear Heads) and no one has anything I can find on this keyboard. I can find plenty of glowing user reviews, but no professional reviews other than one blog that's run by a Casio dealer so he has a vested interest and I take it with a grain of salt. Perhaps my Google-Fu is failing me, but when I try to find the professional reviews I turn up people wanting to sell me the keyboard. Is there some reason there seems to be a void of reviews on this model? It has been out since 2013 so it's plenty old.

What concerns me is that I know that in most industries magiziens and such that do reviews if they feel something is total junk they just won't review it; they won't do a bad review of something. Can anyone find a professional review of the keyboard, or does anyone know if something is wrong with it?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
There's nothing "wrong" with the DGX-650, as far as I know. My understanding is that it's a good digital piano, although not as good as a stage piano would be. Plus, a lot of digital pianos seem to have a limited number of voices, but the DGX line is XGlite-compatible (I take it that "DGX" stands for "Digital Grand XGlite"), so it has plenty of voices to choose from.