Yamaha MM6 .v. Roland GW-7

Reaction score
Hi everyone I've just joined the forum. I'm looking to buy a keyboard; I have some limited experience so was looking into buying something like the MM6 or GW-7. What's your opinion on these? Are there any others at this sort of price range (£350, or about $700 I guess!). Thanks a lot.

Reaction score
Kris,

Both the Roland & Yamaha you speak of are pretty much on par with each other,as the are very comparable feature & sound wise.

With regard to sequencing on these keyboards..well..neither one of them have pattern sequencing which is very useful & a feature no programmer wants to live without because this particular mode of sequencing allows you to build songs quickly,easily and gives you very flexible editing features that allow you to fix timing errors in your playing,while also using up less internal memory.

This is a method of workstation recording that is for the advanced user,so this is not really any of your concern at this point,but the reason I mention it now,is that if you posess the desire to become a seasoned programmer in the future,you may want to consider making the investment now.

The overall sound quality of these two boards are very decent for the money & if you are interested in connecting either one of these boards to a computer for the purpose of advancing your sequnecing,that of course is a viable option.

Online demos are not always the most accurate display of sound quality,as they sometimes can be hyped up with external devices for the demo,and then when you get your hands on the keyboard,the results can vary.
At the very least though,this link will give you an idea of what the Roland GW-7 is like;

http://www.roland.com/demos/en/i0031/index.html

Along with Yamaha's rebate that they are currently offering which is $100,you can get the Yamaha for a couple hundred dollars cheaper(USD),so that's something else to consider.