Yamaha MODX7 line out volume problems


Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Location
Niskayuna, NY
I use a Yamaha MODX7 and I’m having difficulty with line out volume to FOH mixer and the rig is already at the highest db level ..should I use a preamp out or some kind of boost? any suggestions ?
Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Moderator
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
3,246
Reaction score
1,385
I'm not a gigging musician, but that's what I'd do-- use a preamp.
 
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
6
Reaction score
1
Location
Niskayuna, NY
I’m going stereo out with left side going to DI to front board/ foh .. left thu and right going to mackie small mixer that I use for in ears.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 4, 2012
Messages
725
Reaction score
273
So you are only sending the left side of the keyboard to the FOH. In order for the FOH to sound correctly it needs both sides. As suggested by a previous poster send the left and right to a mixer (not a headphone mixer, a regular mixer). Send the outputs of that mixer to the headphone mixer for personal listening. Send the monitor out of the mixer to thd FOH. Radial makes a small mixer that will do the job nicely. https://www.radialeng.com/
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
600
Reaction score
275
I’m going stereo out with left side going to DI to front board/ foh .. left thu and right going to mackie small mixer that I use for in ears.
Although I don't think this has much impact on the gain problem you asked about, Dave is right that you probably don't want to wire it this way. If you're using the Left output alone, that's fine, since it doubles as a Mono Out when nothing is plugged into the right side (mixing left and right), so nothing is lost, But if you send Left to mains and Right to monitors, the two will probably sound different and neither will be "correct", the exception being if you're only using mono sounds to begin with (since they would be the same out of each side anyway). And in fact, most sounds are mono. But some are stereo, and effects can also be stereo even if placed on a mono sound, and also also a Performance could consist of multiple Parts panned to different locations, which also creates stereo even if the sounds themselves are not. So unless you make an effort to assure that you're only using mono sounds and mono effects with everything panned center, it's not a good idea to split L/R outputs between monitor and main.

Getting back to the question you asked about, when you say "the rig is already at the highest db level" -- what have you done so far to assure that? For example each MODX performance has an option to boost its output by up to 12 dB, have you looked at that? (Common-->General-->Volume)
 

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Moderator
Joined
Jun 6, 2014
Messages
3,246
Reaction score
1,385
What about a single-TRS-to-dual-TRS splitter plugged into the L/L+R jack, so the unbalanced stereo output can be sent to both headphones and FOH without needing a mixer-- not as the best and final solution, but as a cheaper alternative until something better is implemented?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2017
Messages
3,091
Reaction score
1,971
Location
Lancashire, UK.
What about a single-TRS-to-dual-TRS splitter plugged into the L/L+R jack, so the unbalanced stereo output can be sent to both headphones and FOH without needing a mixer-- not as the best and final solution, but as a cheaper alternative until something better is implemented?
Split the line out and you split the electrical output and the signal going foh will be less, its basic of one of Kirchhoff’s Laws.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jun 26, 2010
Messages
600
Reaction score
275
If you're going to a FOH system, you usually use a direct box, 1/4" in to XLR out. Most direct boxes also have a local 1/4" output/thru connector... if you're using one that doesn't have that, get one that does. Then you can use the pre-mixed L/Mono out of your keyboard alone, into the direct box, which will give you the XLR to feed the house and the 1/4" t o feed your monitoring system. Getting back to your need for more output, try an active direct box instead of a passive.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top