Yamaha PF85 has series of dead D and G# keys

Reaction score
Hey guys. I picked up an older 88 key digital piano, a Yamaha PF85, from a friend. It has 6 dead keys, specifically the three D keys on the right half and the three G# keys on the right half. I'll be opening it up to work on it shortly (I've done work on amps, pedals, etc but never on a keyboard), and was wondering if anyone has a good idea of the issue here since it's the same noted keys.) Thanks!

Reaction score
I have the service manual, but I'm not experienced with PCBs (or PCB schematics, for that matter). I've worked mostly with vintage tubes, caps, etc. Just hoping for some specific pointers on the trace/wire/connector that's suspect. And how to open the unit. It has three hinges on the back bottom so I assume I don't have to pull every screw. The service manual has an exploded view but no simple opening procedure listed.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Get your hands on a logic probe and check the ribbons leading from the multiplex drivers for the keyswitches.

Also remove and reseat the ribbon connectors after cleaning the contacts with some Deoxit Contact Cleaner.

The problem is probably a couple of dirty ribbon connectors from the multiplex drivers to the individual octave boards.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
Thanks for the response. I got the top opened easily but I assume I have to pull the key assembly(s) to get at the AE board? Why is it two different semi-octaves dead? And can you identify the exact connection so I don't have to pull them all and reseat all? I can send along the service manual if that helps. Too big to send via forum.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
The pulses happen too quickly for a DMM to pick up on them. A logic probe latches the signal so you can actually see it when it happens.

They cost between $20 and $30

Otherwise, I'm sorry I can't be much more help.