yamaha psr e333 or yamaha psr e423

Reaction score
Hi

I am a total beginner and I want to learn to play the keyboard. Iv done some research and found out that the yamaha series has good built in learning software so I figure that that range is probably the best to go for but I'm not sure which one to go for either the e333 or the e423 which is a good bit more expensive.

Once I have learned to play I would like to get into synthesisers, Could these keyboards be used to control soft synths via the usb connections? TBH Im not sure what the difference is between a keyboard and synth apart from you have more control over a synth. Can you control the tone of different sounds on these keyboards?

All advice welcome.

The Y_man

Reaction score
Go the 423 if you can afford it - it gives more variety of built in styles and voices.

Yes, either can be used (via MIDI) to control other synths and virtual software synths.

Synths basically allow modification of the sounds - the 423 can also allow a small degree of modification too (eg attack, release, filter).

I was going thru the same decision process as you, but ended up buying a Casio CTK-7000 for about the same price as the 423

The Y-man

Reaction score
What advantages does the Casio CTK-7000 over the 423?

I'm really not sure what to do the 423 is the one I really like but its nearly £100 more expensive and I not sure if I can justify it given that I'm not sure how far ill get in learning to play.

Still not 100% sure about the difference between ordinary keyboards, workstations/arrangers, synths and digital pianos. I take it a synth has no built in beats or backgrounds to play along with?

Reaction score
What advantages does the Casio CTK-7000 over the 423?

I'm really not sure what to do the 423 is the one I really like but its nearly £100 more expensive and I not sure if I can justify it given that I'm not sure how far ill get in learning to play.