Yamaha PSR E403 as controller/MIDI Device?

Reaction score
Hi folks...nice to be here; hope it will be a lengthy experience!

I'm writing with an extremely naive bunch of questions, so please bear with me.

I'm part of a duo that does a rather odd mix of performance poetry backed with electric bass and nylon string guitar. I'm the poet part of the group, although I'm also a guitarist myself. We've released a couple of CDs which have done moderately well and are used to simple recording and lots of live performance.

For our third CD, we want to "fatten up" the sound a little bit and add in some simple electronic textures (beats, etc; this is still a wide open topic for us). We're pretty much OK on home digital recording techniques and have done some experimentation around creating electronic tracks in programs like Garageband and Acid Music and adding them to our more organic sound; although we're just starting out, I'm confident that we'll get there in time.

We're most concerned with how to translate that new sound into live performance.

One of the things we've discussed is using a simple keyboard that Faro (the other guy, of course) has to generate sounds and also for some live performance as well. The Keyboard in question is the above mentioned Yamaha PSR E403.

I'm not even really sure of the questions I need to ask, but the basic ones are this: is this a reasonable instrument for creation of really, really minimal electronic sounds? We recognize that there's vastly superior stuff out there, of course, but we're both inveterate tinkerers and would love to work with what we have before going further. Information I've found online is pretty elusive on this question, although the unit does have USB out and "supports General MIDI and XGlite" which is darn near Greek to me at this point.