Yamaha PSR e413 piano sound quality

Reaction score
I've had this keyboard for a few years (not playing much though, so I'm still a total beginner), and there's something that has always bothered me about its portable grand piano sound. It just doesn't sound like what I'd expect from a piano, especially in middle octaves. To me, it sounds almost like... a harp. It's just not the right timbre. I don't know if that makes any sense. The effect is even stronger when I record through line out rather than listen to what I play on the built-in speakers. Additional frustration comes from the fact that I used to own a different Yamaha beginner keyboard as a kid (don't even remember the model -- probably some PSR from 20 years ago before PSR-E series came out), and its timbre seemed pretty much piano-like to me.

So maybe I don't understand what a real acoustic grand is supposed to sound like. Or I have something misconfigured. I'm posting on the chance that maybe it's a common issue and there is a well-known solution for it. I would appreciate any pointers.

If I post a recorded sample of what my keyboard sounds like, is it possible for some to tell me either "it sounds exactly like a real piano should" or "it sounds wrong, and here's what you can try changing"? (I know some people play with reverb and other effects to get a more realistic sound, but everything I've tried so far didn't help.)

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I have similar models to yours, and the Grand Piano (Voice 001) sounds okay to me. But then, our acoustic upright piano sounds horrible, and I have no experience with playing an acoustic grand piano other than several decades ago when taking piano lessons-- so I'm not a very good judge of what a grand piano voice should sound like!