YAMAHA PSR E423 KEYBOARD

Reaction score
Newbie here. Looking for answers to many problems.
Have a Yamaha e423 digital keyboard. Went to youtube to see if I could find a solution - no such luck.
I'm 66 yrs old
I'm practising my head [er] fingers off playing melodies. My problem is playing chords with the melodies.
I can't see how these young kids 4 & 6 yr olds can play chords and melodies together and make it sound beautiful!
My mind just don't work like theirs.
I'm getting used to the keys, notes and fingers.
My problems come up when I'm combining chords with the music.
I have to search for the chords which slows down the melody tempo [if you can call it that]
I want to set up the chords section so it'll play the chords as I'm playing the melody

The Y_man

Reaction score
Welcome Thomas.

Trying to figure out what you are wanting......

Are saying "searching for chords" as in trying ot figure out the "correct" chord to play for a particular song, or just figuring out "how to play the chord"?

The Y-man

Reaction score
Hi Thomas,

A friend of mine can't read music at all but plays the stars from heaven. When he figures out the melody with the right hand than on a piece of paper he writes down the chords for the left hand when he figures out the correct one.
Yes he learnt that keys are named from C up to the next C.
So his songsheet looks like C - G - F - C - D - etc etc
BTW he is using mainly black keys only and uses the one finger accompaniment to begin with. After some trial and error he plays it by ear sings fantastic blues etc and he does gigs!
I can read music and play since I was a kid (I am 70 now) and I am jealous.
Main thing is HAVE FUN!

Regards
DickR

Reaction score
Hi Thomas,

A friend of mine can't read music at all but plays the stars from heaven. When he figures out the melody with the right hand than on a piece of paper he writes down the chords for the left hand when he figures out the correct one.