Yamaha Reface

Reaction score
Can anyone tell me if these are actually any good please? They look like toys but seem to be kicking out an incredible sound. I have been looking at trying to get something that can 'do' a Vox Continental and Rhodes Bass piano (to try to do Ray Manzarek) and thought I was going to have to be going for a Nord. Then I came across these little beauties:

Or should I get a Roland VR-09 and try to model the sound using their iPad app?

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I have no experience with them, but I think the general consensus is that they sound great but you'll probably want to use a good keyboard controller with them so you can play with more than 37 mini keys. They don't have any built-in speakers, so having decent speakers to play them through is also a must-- but if you're planning to gig with them, you'll be playing them through speakers anyway.

As for whether you should just get a Nord or whatever, one possible advantage of getting a reface is that you can sit in your den with one in your lap and play it-- at least, that's part of the marketing shtick. :)

Reaction score
I've tried the Reface units. They sound better than they look -- they are _not_ toys. As SeaGtGruff suggests, a full-size 61-key MIDI keyboard would be a great addition.

My complaint:

. . . They cost too much!

Each one seems reasonable, but one is not enough -- and you can buy a lot of synth power (and ROMpler power) for the cost of 3 or 4 Refaces.

. Charles

Reaction score