Yamaha XS Motif or Roland JP8000?

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm stuck on whether to buy a Yamaha XS Motif or a Roland JP8000. I'm looking for one that can produce 80's synth sounds like Psychedelic Furs, New Order, Depeche Mode, A Flock of Seagulls, etc.

What is the difference between the two keyboards? Which is better and why?

This is also going to be my first electronic keyboard. I have no previous experience with them but I catch on really quick, because I have a lot of musical knowledge (I play guitar, bass, and drums and have been for 6 years). I have a grand piano at home that sounds nice and I wish to create some nice 80's tunes with an electronic one. I need one that sounds nice, not with cheap sounding voices.

Also, is it better to purchase a keyboard ACTUALLY from the 80s (cheaper price too) or not?? what are the pros and cons of that?

Any and all advice/ pointers welcome.

The Y_man

Reaction score
Can't compare the 2 - they are 2 totally different propositions.

One is an 8 voice "pure" synth

The other is a 128 voice "all in one" workstation (drum patterns, backing band, sequencer, etc etc )

As to buying something from the 80's - I have found my 80's gear have pretty much died from electronic components going and or internal batteries running flat (some of which are soldered in).... I'll give you a Juno 106 for free if you want to come and pick it up :D (has a slightly funny DCO that stays on very quielty - barely noticeable)

The Y-man

Reaction score
Can't compare the 2 - they are 2 totally different propositions.

One is an 8 voice "pure" synth

The other is a 128 voice "all in one" workstation (drum patterns, backing band, sequencer, etc etc )