Your opinion on ABC ?

Reaction score
Starting in the 70's with their Electone organs, Yamaha developed Auto Bass Chord (ABC) system.... the player simply holds a chord in the left hand and the ABC system gates the chord to match the drum rhythm tempo and provides a simple Bass line (1:5, 1:3:5 or 1:7:5 variations were possible).

This feature is still available in all their PSR keyboard line..... and top of the line arranger keyboard, the Genos.

Similar systems exist in the Casio family of personal keyboards and Roland BK keyboards I think.... but I have no experience with other than Yamaha.

If you have experience across these systems.... please let me know what you think ?

Which keyboard maker excels at this ? ..... is it still Yamaha ? ...... are they all pretty much the same now ?

Thanks for your feedback.

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score
I'm guessing those might be intervals-- 1st-5th, 1st-3rd-5th, and 1st-7th-5th.

I'm not sure whether ABC is still available on modern Yamaha keyboards, at least not in its original form. I'm not very familiar with ABC as such, but I assume it evolved into Yamaha's auto accompaniments, or styles.

Reaction score
What do these numbers represent?
The numbers are degrees of the musical scale.
For example, if you were playing a C chord..... 1 would be C.... 3 would be E and 5 would be G
and although 7 would be B ..... as I recall it played a flatted seventh ( i.e. B- flat) which is actually more useful musically.
The beauty of the numbering system is that it is independent of the key.
so if you held down an A major chord...... you would get 1 = A, 3 = C-sharp, 5= E and 7 = G
The system was smart enough to change to a flatted third when holding minor chords, so switching to A-minor chord would give the 3 = C instead of C-sharp.