Yup, I'm new here

Reaction score
Greetings,

I joined this forum for advice and ideas - I am a bassist/guitarist and have been for more than 40 years.
I bought a Yamaha DGX500 a few years ago just to mess around with. I have been trying to learn how
to play it as a piano....I studied theory many years ago, though my sight reading is at the same level as
using my fingers to count.

I want to be able to sight read and play some fairly easy classical pieces and advance up to some tougher
ones, but I doubt I'll ever be able to play the Hungarian Rhapsodies any time soon or later.

My problem is left hand coordination....getting both hands to play different things at the same time is
a challenge.....I am just playing at playing now and getting used to the feel. I don't know any songs.
Yes, I can construct chords and figure out scales from pretty much any note. Though I'm mostly playing
in C Maj or A mi or any mode with no sharps or flats, I am trying to venture into other keys.
I am trying some pieces but getting left/right coordination is not going very well - I am a left handed guitar player
so my right hand is used to playing melody lines.

I am hoping as I look through some of the threads here, I can find some help fixing this.
Some good news today.....someone gave me a Roland FP-1 in perfect working order.
Weighted keys make for a different feel than that Yamaha. I will be more specific with my needs
in other sub forums....I hope I've come to the right place.

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
Think of it as drumming with your fingers to start with. The piano is technically a percussive instrument.

Just keep tapping out the rhythms with your fingers and accuracy will follow later.

And as they always say, "Practice... Practice... Practice!!!" :D

Gary

SeaGtGruff

I meant to play that note!
Reaction score