Are there any professional musicians here?

Reaction score
Define professional. I have a "proper" job, but all of my rig is built from professional keyboards and I earn money from what I do. But I still have a normal job.

Reaction score
I play for money, but I play for enjoyment as well. I was a member of AFM for many years. These days I don't do it for a living, but I still play some select jobs for good money when I can. I guess I'm a recovering pro? .lol Don

Reaction score
Hi Don - can you tell the crew what you mean by AFM (or post a link). If they google "AFM band" they're just as likely to get a link to the Armed Forces of Malta's ceremonial band.

Think we've got members from Malta on here actually. It's not as busy on here as the keyboardmag forum (where I know you're also an active member) - but I notice the posts on here are from all over the world - not always the USA/Canada thing dominating on the musicplayer one - though the small but active German contingent on there post plenty.

O/T which model of Receptor are you running and what do you host on it?

Reaction score
AFM is the "American Federation of Musicians", the musicians union in Canada and the US. If you want to perform in the larger North American cities and major venues, you need to be a member. Don

Reaction score
Sorry Goz, I missed the question on the Receptor. Mine is a Receptor Pro w/750G hard drive. It has NI Komplete 5, Atmosphere, Trilogy, EWQLSO Platinum, Colossus, Miroslav, Ivory, 4-Front, and some more that I don't even remember.
I've not spent much time with it yet, but have tested some of the sounds and it does sound fantastic. It has a lot of samples from various sources and is set-up to play them from Kontakt. I think this will be a great machine for me once I get it programmed for the sounds I want to use. Don

Reaction score
Thanks Don. Do you run it in stereo or mono? (A question I can ask on this forum without having to shout "incoming!")