Looking for advice & input

Reaction score
First things first - I'm a bassist that plays some keys (mainly via a Studiologic MP113) in a rock cover band.

I currently have been using one of my Roalnd XP80 keyboards in my band (I know it is old and very outdated...lol). I want to get a new keyboard but I would like something that is similar to the XP80 if that is possible.

I have been looking at the Juno DS61 and DS88 keyboards. I am mainly looking for something that might have a somewhat similar setup/layout to the XP80 so I do not become too lost when trying to get the new keyboard up and running quickly (we have quite a lot of shows coming up).

Does anyone have experience with these keyboards?

Any thoughts would be truly appreciated!

Thanks...

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
I own a DS61 and I have to say that it is ideal for simplicity of use and admirably suited to application as a performance synth.

While it has an amazing range of voices, they are laid out with simple navigation thru category bank selection, and while it lacks an onboard sequencer it does have a simple DAW button for use with any computer DAW program.

The arpeggiators are there if you need them and likewise easily accessible as are splits and layers and it has enough simple drum patterns built in with the step sequencer that it could also stand alone without a band if you needed rhythms in a pinch.

It's priced very competitively for its available feature set and if I had one regret about my purchase it's that I bought the 61 key version instead of the 88.

Great synth, easy to use, and you wouldn't regret buying one for a heartbeat if you picked one up.

Gary ;)

Reaction score
I own a DS61 and I have to say that it is ideal for simplicity of use and admirably suited to application as a performance synth.