Looking for some live performance advice. And by some I mean a lot.

Reaction score
Alright, I'm very new to the stage piano scene, but my jazz and blues band has starting getting gigs, and I want to improve my live sound. I've saved up a bit, and my budget is right around 2 grand. I currently have a Casio Privia PX-130, which for the price sounds great, but it has a lack of diversity.

I run through a Roland KC-60 amp... which I'm not happy with, it doesn't sound great, and I get a lot of distortion when I play louder (which makes sense, it was a cheap amp and my only option at the time). I've oddly been the most happy with my sound when I ran through my friends bass amp, unfortunately I don't remember the brand.

Now, obviously I have a few decisions, and I would like advice from those that have been there. Firstly, do I run with just keys or do I get a decent laptop and run through VSTs? I mostly use pianos and organs, but I've used strings plenty and my sax player REALLY wants me to have a Styx-esque synth sound. So having a few Synth Lead effects, and maybe some pads too, would be excellent. Is there a keys setup out there that has these options without a laptop? Better yet are there keyboards that I can load VSTs into? I've googled it and come up with nada, but I know that doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

If I do run through VSTs on a computer... do I even need a new keyboard? I'm ok with the feel of the Privia, not the best but not bad either, and it has 88 keys and can be used as a controller. If that's the case, I know not any laptop will do, I tried using my current laptop and it had about a quarter to half second of delay... way too much for live performance obviously. So then what options are out there? Do I need to go all the way to a MacBook Pro or is there an external sound card or something that fixes it?