Yamaha DGX 660 or Roland Juno DS88

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a long time guitar player who is deciding to pick up his first keyboard.So I'm new to keyboards, but not knew to music theory, etc. I've basically narrowed down my selection to the Yamaha DGX 660 or Roland Juno DS88. I'd like to mostly play modern stuff, 80s, etc. but would also like to have the capabilities to play more classical stuff if I want. I tried both in stores and so far, the main differences seem to be..

-I like the Roland's keys and texture slightly better
-The Yamaha seems to have a lot more patches
- Roland's probably has more synth patches?
-Yamaha's looks like it has built in speakers?
-Roland's has a 4 way modulator controller (the toggle switch on the left) while Yamaha's is 2 way?

Thoughts on which one would be better for me?

happyrat1

Destroyer of Eardrums!!!
Reaction score
First of all a couple of questions.

1) Do you plan to gig with it or do you plan to use it in a studio or do you just want to use it for your own entertainment? The Juno is much lighter and easier to transport.

2) I believe the Yamaha has a built in multitrack sequencer. To get the same capability in the Juno you'd need to hook up to a computer and use a DAW program. Not a dealbreaker for most people. The Juno DOES have a built in step sequencer for creating beats though. A capability the Yamaha lacks. Is a sequencer necessary for your purposes?

3) The Juno can play back samples on the pads and can also act as a vocoder. A capability the Yamaha lacks. Do you need sampling and vocal processing?

4) The Roland has over 1300 Patches. More than enough for most people. I doubt the Yamaha has that many more. I don't really think this should be a dealbreaker either way.

I have to admit that I'm biased. I own a Juno DS61 and think it's a fabulous instrument. I also have a long standing grudge against Yamaha keyboards because of their non standard USB implementations.