Affordable (OK, cheap!) keyboard for learner

Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks in advance for your advice - love the internet... so many great resources such as this!

Anyway, I'm primarily a drummer and also pretty competent on rhythm guitar and bass (and have played a number of other instruments over the years). Looking at learning a bit of basic keyboard, and also would like to start my young daughters on keys, as I think it is a logical instrument to get a musical grounding on... anyway, enough of the background story!

Was looking at some cheap second hand keyboards on ebay (in Australia), and after reviewing some youtube clips, I'm quite liking the sound of the Yamaha's, namely the PSR E3## (the 323/313 appear to simply be previous incarnations of the current 333, correct, with fairly similar sounds and features?). This model appears to be the first model in their line up to introduce touch sensitivity, which really makes a difference for mine. Casio's lower models can be had at similar prices here in Oz, but the sounds on the Yammie's seem far more pleasing to my ears.

Without really knowing what else I should be looking for in a keyboard, decent quality sounds are important to me, and Yamaha models with touch sensitivity and dual layered sound seem to offer this. I play at church, and while I'm not expecting to jump on keys there in the near future, from listening to youtube clips I reckon the piano/pad/string type sounds (particularly the dual layered sounds) would seem to be passable in that setting, which I find remarkable for a keyboard that can be bought for a smidge over $250 new.

Anyway, seems from what I've read that this is a solid choice... just checking if there are any other options or shortcomings of the 333 I should be aware of!

Thanks again!

The Y_man

Reaction score
No real shortcomings per se - great place to start.