Any recommendations on a mid level keyboard?

Reaction score
Hello all,

I’m new here and I apologize if this has been asked a million times (I really did look through the first 4-5 pages of the forum) but I’m looking for recommendations for a keyboard purchase

I am a hobbyist musician at best; I’m 50ish, do not play in a band, job is demanding so I’m tired, and I just like to play music on my own. I’ve played guitar for 35 years and am a decent musician; I’m not professional but I sound better than the average guy out there, especially when I can practice. Anyways, I bought a cheap Yamaha DGX 500 keyboard off of craigslist a year ago just to goof around on and I love it. The challenge of a new instrument and learning piano songs that were hard to convert to guitar has been awesome.

It’s time to think about upgrading and here’s my dilemma. I am pretty sure I’m going to just upgrade to the latest DGX which is currently the DGX 670. It’s probably more than I need and should work well for me. It’s currently listed at $849, but for a little more I can get into the low end professional type of keyboard. I'm not talking about the 4k or 5k instruments; I’m thinking a Roland Juno DS88 or a Yamaha MX88 which hopefully find a used one for around $1k. Here are my questions which are hard to answer nowadays because you can’t just go play these at a store anymore (or it’s not so easy post-covid):

-Is the DGX 670 just a higher quality toy keyboard? Is it professional quality in sound and playability?

-Does the DGX work with DAW? I might be interested in recording.

-Upgrading to the Juno DS88 or MX88 would require a keyboard amp right? Is this a big PITA to setup? How expensive is a decent small keyboard amp? I'll have to admit that just turning a keyboard on and starting to play with internal speakers is attractive.

-Is the extra functionality of these professional keyboards really only good for professional musicians who gig?