First one

Reaction score
Hi, well, im in a rock band (a real one, not the game) and im intersted in buying a keyboard, im new in this things so i can't distingue between synths samplers and such things.

I want something not too profesional, but that has good qualitie and that could be used in my rock band.

I've thinking in some Casio CTK or something like that, what coul u guys recommend me??

Thanks

PD. Im writting from Mexico, so, i apologize for any mistakes in my english.

Reaction score
No no no... stay away from Casios, PSR series and all arrangers (arrangers being keyboards with styles on board).

If you play in a full band you want a workstation - that way you're able to customize
sounds any way you like.

There are lots of workstations out there, so you'll have to specify the price range you're going for.

Reaction score
I thinks something that would work well for you may be a yamaha MM6. there great for what your trying to do and there not too expensive.

Reaction score
Well, for that price anyone would be far better off with the Korg X50.

a) it's a real workstation
b) you can layer/split/velocity-switch up to 8 programs
c) you have full sound editing options
d) basically, it's identical to the Korg TR apart from not having a sampling option and a sequencer

none of that on the MM6.

My opinion is that the MM6 is the biggest mistake Yamaha made.
It's not an arranger, and it's not a workstation - it lacks features from both.
It's just some silly hybrid people buy cause they think they're getting Motif sounds

Reaction score
the mm6 can layer and split and is velocity sensitive, and it can have 8 precets, you can completely edit the sounds and it is just as much of a workstation as the x50, the problem i have with the x50 is that they break constantly. ive never had a problem with any yamaha keyboard.

Reaction score
You can layer 2 sounds.
You can split them at a predefind point and you can only determen that single split point.