I'm wanting to get into keyboards and not sure what to get or what meets my goals long term.

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm kinda new at keyboards but I have an old upright parlor grand I mess around with and I'm really wanting a keyboard that can do everything or maybe even 2 different keyboards if 1 won't do everything I was wanting. So I've been researching and trying to figure out best bang for my buck as well as hitting my checklist as best as I can.

I'm wanting a keyboard with 88 keys that is weighted or semi at least. Also want piano 3 pedal access but extra assignable pedal ports would be great too, maybe usb/multi midi ports, and on board reverb effects would be great and triple sensor keys if possible but double would work.

I really care about top notch sound especially real piano/organ/clav/synth/horns/strings and versatility with many sounds and tons of layers but also like the idea of being able to quickly change sounds/voices or effects on the fly easily etc. so I like the idea of on board buttons, knobs, faders, pads, wheels, or maybe a separate controller that has all that would work.

At first I was thinking maybe stuff like Nord Stage 3 (very cool but wow that price is crazy) or Korg Kronos 88 (seems like you can do anything but looks like a ton of hassle) or even Kawai MP7 but I'd like to spend less than 3k-5k if possible and recently seen/heard what VST can do for so much less money so now I'm confused on what to get. Maybe stuff like a Roland Juno DS 88 or even a $200-2k keyboard would do what I want? Not really sure.

I really want to get into DAW /VST/MIDI stuff with laptops/desktop like keyscape, omnisphere, mainstage, ableton live, etc. but at the same time I'd like to use it if I were to perform/gig in the future.
I'd like to spend as little as possible for my goals but still get quality/pro level stuff for long term.

Some questions:
1a Not sure if a keyboard's on board polyphony matters when using VST with a laptop?